Everyday Goodies

Onion Jam

So, it can be hard cooking for one. I HAAATE wastage! But there’s only so many containers and freezer space that a girl can use before enough is enough! So, one day I find myself looking through some of the left over bits and bobs of fruit and veg I had in the fridge. Desperately searching for inspiration from my 1/2 an onion, 1/2 red capsicum, several chillies and 2 apples I didn’t think I would have any luck. But alas! Inspiration struck in the form of onion jam. I have to admit I was essentially ripping of my friend who had made onion jam when I was over a couple of days earlier….but I will still pretend that this was my crazy, original idea that came to me out of the blue! Also, I may have just bought a new deep pan frying pan that i was bursting to use! So, whilst making this in a pot would be more traditional, my frying pan worked a treat!

Ingredients (for 1 small jar of onion jam):

  • 1/2 Onion
  • 1/2 Red Capsicum
  • 2 Apples
  • 2 Chillies
  • 1 TBSP balsamic Vinegar
  • 2 TBSP Pomegranate Molasses
  • pinch of salt and pepper

How To:

  • Roughly chop the onions.
  • Heat a TBSP of coconut oilover a low heat in a pan (or frying pan if you’re feeling excited).
  • Cook the onions for about 10mins over a low heat with the lid on, stirring occasionally.
  • Dice your capsicum, apples and chillies and add to the pan.
  • Cook for a further 10-15mins, stirring occasionally, until everything has softened.
  • Add the vinegar, pomegranate molasses and seasoning.
  • Cover and let simmer for 15mins.
  • When everything has reduced and made a nice jam like consistency take off the heat.
  • Allow to cool and then store in a jar or container. Or use straight away with a curry, bread platter, cheeky quesadilla or anything else your heart desires.

I must say, I’m rather chuffed with this recipe as it was a complete throw together. I didn’t waste any random bits and bobs, it tastes great and I can add it to so many meals! I most recently had it with a samosa! YUMO!

 

Enjoy! πŸ™‚

image2 (2)

Leave a Reply

